Human Factors psychology grad. Where are the jobs at?

dmacfour

This might come of as sort of rantish.

I lost sleep last night thinking about the last three months. I've sent out dozens of applications a week, sometimes dozens a day. I wasn't expecting employers to be throwing offers at me, but I sure wasn't expecting to get absolutely no interest. Two businesses contacted me via email asking for a portfolio, and rejected me after realizing that I have no professional experience (what did they expect?). maybe a dozen others have sent me rejection emails that seemed automated. At this point I'm feeling lost and frustrated. At least if I was rejected after a phone interview, I could figure out what went wrong. I haven't even been given the chance. I've been applying to internships with the same results.

Are there any other degree holders on this forum who've had similar problems? What did you do to gain employment? 

Edited by dmacfour

Being an applicant for this next cycle, I must admit this is scary. Right now I'm torn between I/O and HF, I knew the job market was better for I/O, but I'm surprised you're having so much trouble. I'm sorry to hear about your situation and wish you well. Keep at it, I'm sure something will come up. Do you have a masters, or a Ph.D?

dmacfour,