E-mailing Admissions Directors?

AKCarlton

I know I'm jumping the gun here because people are starting to receive word in abundance now, however, my question is: can/should I email the admissions director and ask if their letters/emails are being sent out?

I've perused some of the forums here and results search section and have seen a couple people hear back from programs I've applied to and I have yet to receive word.

Oddly, one of the people who got accepted to one of the programs I applied to heard back in early February, and yet, I received an email from the admissions director in late February (24th) inquiring about potentially misplacing my GRE scores and noting "We hope to make decisions in the next week or two" ...

But I haven't heard or received anything since then?

What is the protocol on this...when you know ppl are hearing back but you haven't? Then again, I haven't seen much of anything else from any of the programs I've applied to thus far.

This is my first time applying to grad school so bear with me here. I appreciate any words of wisdom and advice!

I think it is TOTALLY acceptable to contact,even over phone and ask what the status is. If you want, you can ask first "have all decisions been made' and if they say yes, then you can ask about what happened to your application

This is my first time applying also, but I think that it is generally acceptable to start inquiring starting this week if not next week. For most of my programs I have to accept or decline admission by April 15th, So I have started emailing all the programs I haven't heard from. On a side note I went to NAU also, I graduated with a BS in Electrical Engineering last December!!

This is good to hear because I just emailed one of them and received an automatic email saying he was away until Wednesday...le sigh.

I'll go ahead and attempt contact with the others.