In a real corner...what should I do?

zirtico

First off, excuse me for the long post!

I got my engineering undergrad from a very reputable university in Canada, where I really struggled to get through, not because of the material, but because of the academic misconduct.  Professors asked students for money to award them the grade they deserved.  I graduated with a lot of debt and a GPA that did not reflect my knowledge in the least.  After spending about 10 months applying to literally hundreds of jobs, I remained unemployed and decided I had to go back to grad school as a last resort.  FYI, many of my fellow graduates with similar GPAs are still unemployed while those who underperformed academically, attained very well-paying jobs.

I took my GREs, scored in the 90th percentiles, got 3 good letters of recommendation and applied for an MS.  Realistically, I expected to get into Oregon State U., which I did, and obtain funding, which I did not at least not in the first round.  I have had no income and cannot afford to go deeper into debt, therefore if I am to attend grad school, I will need to secure an assistantship, or get a tuition remission and get a part-time job.  What do you suggest that I do? 

I figured my chances were better to get into a state school in the US than another university in Canada, where I would most likely have to pay full fees.  Is there anything I can do to attend grad school?

I figured my chances were better to get into a state school in the US than another university in Canada, where I would most likely have to pay full fees.

I think you're incorrect on this one. Canadian schools have quite generous funding for Master's degrees, with STEM being an even better chance for good funding.