Two year gap year - Increasing my odds?

missmend

Long story short is that while I intended to go straight into grad school from undergrad, health and finances made that hard and I wound up not applying in 2013. Now, though, I'm intending to apply to MA programs for fall 2015 but my concern is that I haven't done anything, well, noteworthy since graduating. Right now I'm working part time and doing volunteer work, but I'd love to get input on what I could be doing to help increase my chances on successful applications.

Some background: I graduated in 2013 with a BA in history and German, with a Russian minor, with honors. I have some conference presentations and awards, and a number of professors who could write very solid LORs. My intention is to apply for MA programs in history, focusing on East-Central Europe, with the intention to go on to the PhD. I've thought language classes might be a good direction, along with continuing reading theory and current lit, but suggestions would be very helpful.

It sounds like you already have a strong application, so really now you can just focus on GRE and SOP. Additional language is definitely good if you aren't at a research reading level for the ones you'll need, but I think they'll mostly just focus on your undergraduate record and what you've already done academically. I took a 2 year gap between my MA and applying for PhDs (just finished the application cycle for that). I did nothing in those 2 years related to history or to improve my application and was successful, so having the gap didn't really seem to hurt at all.

Actually, it's becoming increasingly common for people to have gap years. Professors like working with students who've done something besides "school." The gap year(s) don't have to be related to academia at all... a friend of mine worked retail after finishing her MA and while applying to grad programs. It was fine.