How do you choose between a better school without financial support and a not as good school with financial support?

Yihuan

I received an PhD offer from North Carolina State University with tuition waiver and TA. I also got an Master's admission from Rutgers University without any kind of financial support. My major is in Computer Science. I'm okay with both professional track and research track. It's really hard for me to decide. Rutgers is ranked way better than North Carolina State in almost any ranking, but NC state is also a nice school which offered me a great deal of money. 

What's your major concern while making your decision? Do you think the ranking or the financial support more important? Please help me!!! Thanks!

I followed the money. I'd only pay for graduate school if I was either independently wealthy (I'm not, I'm very much working class) or if the ROI was quite high. How much debt could you expect from a MS at Rutgers? Also, do you want a masters or do you want a PhD?

take a funded PhD over a masters that you have to pay for.  Research track is about what you do in the school more than which school per se and it is important to go to a school that has a fit that offers you to pursue what you want to do.  Don't get hung up on the name of a school especially since from a cursory glance i wouldn't think that much more of Rutgers than NC State.  

Best of luck!

NC State! Way nicer place to live and cost of living is much lower. I don't think name recognition between those two schools makes much difference, honestly.

I followed the money. I'd only pay for graduate school if I was either independently wealthy (I'm not, I'm very much working class) or if the ROI was quite high. How much debt could you expect from a MS at Rutgers? Also, do you want a masters or do you want a PhD?