How does a political science admissions committee evaluate GPA?

Greetings.

I'm currently majoring in International Relations and would like to pursue a PhD in political science. I'll try and keep this brief, but my question pertains to "which" GPA an admissions committee will consider deeply. By "which" GPA, I'm referring to cumulative/overall GPA and major GPA (for courses that pertain to ones major).

I'll make this part of my post quick, but in my situation, I began at a California community college (CC). I wasn't a very good student in high school, and that transferred over for the first semester at CC. However, I quickly discovered what I wanted to do with my life, and I began receiving A's. Fast forward a bit, and I was able to get into a respected public research university. I've been able to get at least a 3.8 each quarter I've been at my university, and I've recently completed an honors thesis as well.

However, my problem is this: I, like hundreds of others, would like to go to a "top-tier" university. The faculty at most (but not all) of these universities match my research interests. The issue, however, is when I read something such as this: "admitted students have typically had an overall GPA of 3.8 or above." Now, when I calculate my overall GPA (CC+university), it comes to about a 3.6. However, my "major" GPA (all courses counting toward my major) is at a 3.81, and my GPA at the "real" university is 3.86. Without considering letters of recommendation, GRE scores, the writing sample, or the statement of purpose, does my mediocre performance for part of my undergraduate career wreck my chances of getting into an extremely competitive institution? Thanks for any and all responses!