University of New Mexico-what's the deal?

I'm currently a non-degree student here at UNM. I started in fall of 2012. I got my BA in psychology at UNM, which was great-the faculty are nothing but friendly and supportive of all students. So naturally I expected that when I started as a non-degree, but not really what I experienced. The department is small and it's not a very harmonious department. Some of the faculty members don't get along well with each other and will occasionally gossip about each other during class. Also, certain students are very clearly favored over others. It's a very competitive atmosphere so there's a lot of cliques among the students. Considering how stressful grad school is, especially when studying speech pathology, it seems important that the department would be supportive of its students but at UNM, that's definitely few-and-far between.

I'm finishing up my leveling courses but most of the "graduate" courses are combined with undergraduates. I think that may be why so many issues come up because the classes are so large ~ 100 people in a class and there's a lot of tension between the undergrads and the grads. There's been a lot of reshuffling too so the faculty availble to teach class is limited and the professors that are available are stretched pretty thin.

I'm finishing up my leveling courses but most of the "graduate" courses are combined with undergraduates. I think that may be why so many issues come up because the classes are so large ~ 100 people in a class and there's a lot of tension between the undergrads and the grads. There's been a lot of reshuffling too so the faculty availble to teach class is limited and the professors that are available are stretched pretty thin.

Grad courses are combined with undergrads? Wow. Do undergrads get to participate in clinic, too? 

Grad courses are combined with undergrads? Wow. Do undergrads get to participate in clinic, too?