Math class choice

Hi, I have recently hit a bit of a quandary. So, I'm sure some of you may be able to relate to focusing on a perhaps trivial choice and wondering if it could impact one's chances of getting into grad school. I am looking to apply to Biostats PhD programs in a couple of years.

For next year I have the option of taking Advanced Calculus I and II or Real Analysis I or II. Advanced Calculus (essentially undergrad real analysis?) covers similar topics like differentiation, limits, and integration. Analysis covers the whole spiel in R^n so it definitely would be better to take that option. Real Analysis at my school covers baby Rudin where Advanced Calculus uses a textbook at the level of Fitzpatrick's Advanced Calculus. My question is whether it will matter at all what sequence I take? I may not be able to get admission into Real Analysis due to my self-taught (aside from Calc 1-4) background. My supposition is that getting an A in an advanced calculus sequence would be better than getting a B+/A- in real analysis. But, I'm not sure. I am taking these to take up for my poor calculus grades in undergrad (currently a Master's student in Engineering). Any advice would very much be appreciated.

Thanks,

Disenchanted

Have you taken a Real Analysis course before? Otherwise, going straight into baby Rudin might be overwhelming. I imagine Real Analysis will be better for PhD applications. If you decide to go that route, make sure to supplement Rudin's book with Apostol's Mathematical Analysis

Yeah. I realize it will be a big jump, so I'm self-learning over the summer. I am 75% of the way through "How to Prove It" by Velleman, and then I am going to start "Understanding Analysis" by Abbott (1D Real Analysis book). After that I think I may be ready. Is Apostol on the same level as Rudin? Or is it easier ?

Thanks for replying!

Is Apostol on the same level as Rudin? Or is it easier ?

They're about the same level. Apostol goes through more topics.