post MFA career advice

ssart

Hey there, 

young(ish) artist seeking career advice. I studied painting at a community school as a youth, then went to Stanford University and majored in art and writing. I have always been very determined to have a successful career as a painter and would like to eventually teach on the graduate level or support myself from my work. After undergrad I was super cocky and applied to a number of programs, but only got into SFAI (duh... I was so young I barely knew how to write a statement!) I received full funding at SFAI, and although it was not my top choice school I felt like it would be stupid not to go because it was a free MFA. I taught painting at a school in San Francisco and in various PreCollege programs after finishing, but didn't feel as though I had any time to work because of my day job and my connections weren't panning out. I moved to a cheaper location, but I'm struggling with feeling stuck in general.  Not sure how to proceed. Anyone ever done a second MFA? Certificate program? Fulbright? I feel like I jumped through all the hoops early and not am now making art into a black hole. At 27 I'm young a little look for a teaching position, no one takes me seriously. I miss having an art community and wish I had based my school selection on working with specific faculty rather than the imagined pressure to go immediately to graduate school.

cheers,

anon 

I dated a girl who received her Master's of Art.  Not an MFA...just "art".  We broke up shortly thereafter and I haven't talked to her since but last I heard she is working as a social worker.  Maybe doing art therapy?