Canadian Scholarships (not bounded by gpa?)

imnotbatman

Hey everyone! I was taking a look at the major scholarships in Canada (CGS, OGS, NSERC etc) and it seems that gpa is a major component of the whether you are successful or not. 

1) Has anyone ever been successful at obtaining these scholarships with a sub-par gpa? (roughly 3.0-3.3?) 

2) Are there scholarships out there that weight research experience and publications more than gpa?

I'm a non-traditional student in that my bachelor's was sub 3.0 and my master's was 3.3 (but ranked top 20% in my program). I am currently in my M.A program and hoping to apply for scholarships but it seems that despite my research experience and publications (2 in peer-reviewed journals, 5 conference poster/presentations), I am still greatly hindered by the gpa requirements as they take account my undergrad gpa. 

Unfortunately the main driver of most entry level graduate fellowships, in Canada and elsewhere, is GPA. After getting into grad school, this is pretty much the only reason to try to maintain a high GPA. 

However, the NSERC PGS/CGS-D does indeed weigh research performance over GPA. The weight breakdown is 50% research achievement and potential, 30% academics and 20% community involvement. You can find this breakdown on the NSERC instructions page.

I would not let a 3.0-3.3 GPA stop me from applying to NSERC and OGS awards. I would say the competitive GPA (for NSERC CGS-D) is around a 3.6 and above, but you do have strong research experience, so this may balance out. I think if you can get your letter writers to address this in your LORs then it might help a lot. That is, if you get your letter writer to really emphasize your research skill and potential, it will make you a good candidate.