Seeking counsel re: grad school considerations

Suraj_S

Hi, all!

This is my first post on GradCafe. :)

I'm in the process of selecting and applying to psychology grad programs. Basically, my biggest questions are:

• Given my background, interests, and creds, should I go for my Master's before the Ph.D.?
  • Which types of programs (say, in terms of ranking) should I reasonably expect to get into?
Basic info: I graduated from UC Santa Barbara with B.A.'s in Psychology and Philosophy, and a cumulative GPA of 3.09. My psych GPA was 3.15, philosophy 2.96. I worked in two psychology labs, one from October last year to this August and the other from October to December last year. I recently took the GRE and scored 168V/158Q/5.5W. I have two solid rec letters lined up, and am currently choosing who to ask for my third.

Now, for extra-curriculars. I was on a debate team (for the Ethics Bowl intercollegiate competition) from March last year to this June. I wrote for the campus' top newspaper (Science/Tech column) from October '13 to this August, and wrote on topics ranging from psychology (including personal opinions and arguments) to physics, tech, A.I., local events, business, ethics, and public policy. During this time, I worked closely with the campus' theoretical physics department in promoting their outreach efforts. Finally, I was a member and officer of an on-campus club that met each week to discuss presentation ideas, and deliver them to public audiences after each quarter in a format similar to TED's model. I gave my self-produced presentation on personality psychology/cognitive neuroscience.