Is there any work in the mental health field that...

hum1

does not require a licensure?

I have a bachelor's degree in psychology, an MSc in clinical psychology and an MA in psychoanalysis (from Portugal and the UK).

I am realising that one cannot do any kind of work in California related with mental health area without having a licensure (psychologist, LMFT, LCSW, LEP, LPCC). Since I only hold a master in clinical psychology and not a PhD, I cannot apply to become a psychologist. My question is.... Then why do a major, a bachelor’s degree or even a master in psychology if this does not lead you to any licensure and thus you cannot do any work in the area of psychology?

Thank you for your replies!

See this: http://www.apa.org/gradpsych/2004/01/get-licensed.aspx

Accredited graduate programs for aspiring clinical psychologists, counselors, and social workers incorporate two-year supervised internships as an experimental component for students. These hours are required in order to become licensed, though licensing procedures and regulations vary from state to state. (See the link above and do some more research on this variance--though it's irrelevant if you're limiting your scope to California licensure, which will require the aforementioned internship experience.)

Suraj-X, thank you for your reply.

My question is also: Are there any jobs in the mental health area which do not require a licensure, or anyone who has contact and works in this field has to have necessarily a licensure?

I am just wondering why do people take majour, bachelor's and masters in pscyhology in California if they cannot work in the mental health area and have to pursue a doctorate degree which has the odds of 550:20 in order to get in just before they are able to do any work with mental health service users...