Learning a Foreign Language in Graduate School

I'm fairly new to this forum. Essentially, my question pertains to the fact that I've begun applying to graduate schools for next year and I've noticed that many (such as UNC, Rutgers, etc), require proficiency in two foreign languages, but that this requirement doesn't have to be fulfilled until midway or near the end of the PhD program. I have working knowledge with one foreign language, which I plan on studying up so that I can at least be able to read some novels, albeit still some reliance on a dictionary, by the time next fall. However, that is it - I have no experience beyond this one language. Do graduate schools like this generally allow sufficient space to learn an additional language, from scratch, if needed, or would this be too much when considering the rest of a typical graduate course/teaching load?

Grateful for any responses with knowledge on this. I'm getting pretty tired of speculating on whether this is a critical area based on what I've read so far online and what I see on schools' websites. I'd like to hope that I don't - since I'm not applying for a comparative literature degree, and can stay mostly within my American and British areas.