Not being able to choose any of your first year classes

I am strongly considering leaving my PhD program in the biomedical sciences. I have become very frustrated that my program dictates what courses I have to take in my first year as they are more or less all the courses I have a very minimal background in. I do enjoy the classes but my grades are not quite up to what they should be considering there was no opportunity for me to take a less intense course (for example I am currently in a very advanced biochemistry class without any formal background). My background is primarily neuropsychology and and very little emphasis was placed on the molecular aspects of things. I am not sure if the program is worth all of the stress at this point because I can barely balance my lab work with my classes anymore. 

Anyone else in a similar boat? I am seriously considering taking next semester off and finding a new program to apply to next fall. The only issue is my funding is great and I really enjoy my lab but I cannot handle the excessive course load considering myself and a lot of others just do not have the background in these subjects. 

I'm also in my first semester, I feel tired, overwhelmed... I also have to take classes I have barely no background in (but I am indeed enjoying the subjects, to my surprise), for the past weeks I have had trouble keeping up with the workload, BUT... I feel like everyone else in my cohort is sort of in the same boat... I'm also learning to not stress so much about grades, just work really hard and try my best... 

Most importantly, everyone keeps telling me that it gets better! I guess we learn how to manage our time/efforts better, and the coursework should get smaller in the next years... 

Have you considered talking to your graduate advisor?

In any case - good luck! :)