MA at Chicago Divinity - Tips? Advice? Insights?

Marcion

Hey everyone. I am looking to get into the MA program at the University of Chicago's Divinity School. I am trying to figure out some of the "must haves" but I was wondering if anyone had any insights about the school, the staff, and admissions in general. What are expected GRE scores like? Is it really that expensive compared to others? What about funding? And if you go, do you like it?

I graduated from the MA program in June and really loved my time there. I'm now in a PhD program elsewhere and I definitely miss a lot about my time in Hyde Park. That said, it's definitely not for everyone and it's quite different from most other divinity schools.

In terms of MA admission, I don't think there are any "must haves" beyond the basics of a reasonable undergraduate performance, a decent verbal score on the GRE, and a statement of purpose that expresses an interest in religion in a compelling way. I remember when I applied someone in my university's career office who knew what she thought to be the ethos of the U of C looked at my original statement (which was pretty focused on my specific academic interests within the history of Christianity) and told me to add some "religious studies" theory. I think I ended up mumbling something about Durkheim, but in retrospect I think it's more important (unless you are in the field of history of religions) to talk about various faculty who interest you, the opportunities to take classes in the broader university, your academic interests, and how you foresee developing them at Chicago, etc. They're not expecting you to be a religious studies scholar already coming in.