Electives outside of program

Hi everyone. I'm in my first semester in my program of Sociology, with an applied research specialty.  I recently met with my advisor to plan the courses I will take in the future, and he strongly encouraged me to take a few electives outside of the sociology program.  I was surprised by this.  He said to take courses that I feel would expand and enrich my sociological interests. I have a BS in Psychology and a BA in Sociology, and all the Sociology classes offered are very interesting to me.  I'm not sure if this is a ploy to make more money for the University?  If it is a good idea, I don't know what classes would be right for my career path.  

Any thoughts/suggestions? Thanks for your feedback.

I'm all for broadening your interests, but since you say "I'm not sure if this is a ploy to make more money for the University?" I assume that either your program is not funded, or that these outside classes will not be covered by your funding.  In that case, it seems like sitting in on the classes (with the instructor's permission, which most are happy to give), would be the best option.

As to what classes would be helpful, I suppose that depends on your specific interests.  I imagine classes in social/political philosophy, economics, anthropology (If it's a different department), history, and cultural studies departments would be interesting to many sociologists. 

I'm not sure why you are surprised by this? Most programs encourage breadth and it makes sense to take courses outside of your main department if they are related to your research interest. In both grad programs I've been in, the minimum requirement is only half of the total courses come from your home department. But I do work in a fairly multidisciplinary field, where most research interests generally span several departments so it's pretty tough for someone to both 1) take courses they are interested in and 2) stay within one department.