2014-15 Cycle for Canadian Political Science Programs

twinsora

Hi all, 

I know theres a forum post for this year's cycle, but I was hoping to recreate a thread for just Canadian Political Science Programs.

Currently a fourth year undergraduate at McMaster, Expected GPA is 3.1-3.2, expected last two years is 3.5-3.7.

Applying to MA programs in Theory/IR.

Applying towards the following schools: York, UVic, McMaster, McGill, UBC, Carleton in Poli Sci and SFU & Waterloo for Public Policy/Admin. 

Best of luck to all in this years cycle. 

Hey twinsora,

Thanks for creating this forum! :)

I'm currently a fourth year undergraduate at the University of Guelph. My current cGPA is 3.3 (79) but I am hoping to get it to a 3.7 for funding. My third year was 3.8 and I am hoping to get around the same this year (although I have economics, so fingers crossed). I also have a thesis this year. 

I am also applying to international relations programs. My number one is Carleton (NPSIA), followed by Ottawa (GPSIA). I haven't decided where else I want to apply yet. I would apply to Toronto (Munk) if I wasn't so turned off by the ridiculously high tuition fees and the lack of funding. 

Good luck! :)

I know NPSIA and GPSIA offer really competitive funding packages. The former being harder to get into than the latter.

Don't know too much about Munk.

I'm just crossing my fingers that my average will be able to get me into one grad school, since its fairly low compared to most other applicants. I think most other applicants have at least a 3.7 in their last two years, and most schools don't pay attention to your first two years. 

Applying to York, UofT, McMaster, and Carleton for political theory. 3.5 (cGPA), 3.61 (L2), decent EC's, ok references, no research experience. Wishing everyone good luck for this cycle!

Edited by maozedong

On a 4.0 scale according to this: http://www.ouac.on.ca/docs/olsas/c_olsas_b.pdf

CGPA: 3.6

L2 (2nd and 3rd year): 3.8

Expected 4th year: 3.9