contacting your new professors over the summer

So, is it poor form or whatever for get in touch with your advisor/faculty contact for the first time in the middle of July?

Back in late April my program sent me the name of a faculty contact/preliminary advisor who I could get in touch with re: course selection for my first semester in the program. The email with this info said, "We encourage you to contact your faculty contact within the next four weeks with any questions you may have regarding registration." I never did this within four weeks because for god's sake, I was just too wound up in graduating from program #1 to sit down and map out my first semester of classes for program #2 (I guess I'm a bad grad student).

It's now July and I'm seriously working out my potential plan of study and I have questions about core classes, etc. Is it inappropriate to get in touch with the faculty contact now, in the middle of the summer, with my course selection questions? Has the window of opportunity closed and I've already screwed things up before even starting my first semester?

So, is it poor form or whatever for get in touch with your advisor/faculty contact for the first time in the middle of July? ...

It's now July and I'm seriously working out my potential plan of study and I have questions about core classes, etc. Is it inappropriate to get in touch with the faculty contact now, in the middle of the summer, with my course selection questions? Has the window of opportunity closed and I've already screwed things up before even starting my first semester?

You can definitely contact the person, but don't be too surprised if you don't get a reply. I actually met with my advisor in June, because I came out to look for an apartment then. That said, he's out of the country on a research trip right now so he's not really checking/replying to his email.