Why can't it be easy?

I was all set to go down to South Carolina (#25 program in the country). However, they have yet to offer me funding. On the other hand, I was offered a TA at U of Massachusetts (a very new program) that covers full tuition and fees and provides a $16000 stipend. I am at a total loss of what to do. Any suggestions?

Guest criminologist

South Carolina is #25...out of 28 ranked programs, the bottom programs are also newer programs, there is almost no difference. I suggest getting the funding, if it was the #1 program unfunded then it's worth it. 

Are you really willing to do an unfunded graduate degree?

I am if only for the fact that I feel extremely fortunate to have been accepted into SC, as I have no publications and no experience. I will have to pay $30,000 for the first year and then it will drop to in-state tuition. Also, there is a possibility for funding in the future.

This is probably the hardest decision I've had to make in my 36 years. Are there any pro's to attending a school that is unranked and has no reputation yet? It's only 3 years old.  

Guest criminologist

I am if only for the fact that I feel extremely fortunate to have been accepted into SC, as I have no publications and no experience. I will have to pay $30,000 for the first year and then it will drop to in-state tuition. Also, there is a possibility for funding in the future.

This is probably the hardest decision I've had to make in my 36 years. Are there any pro's to attending a school that is unranked and has no reputation yet? It's only 3 years old.  

The reason why it is unranked is because US news has not updated their criminology rankings since 2009, so it can't be ranked if the program started after 2009. 

Edited by criminologist

I agree with the other other responders for the most part. I voiced my opinion in a different thread but before reputation I would look at:

1) funding offered v. tuition costs and living costs in the area