MS in statistics: Washington or Toronto

jt0622

Hi,

I am an international student accepted to both MS in statistics of U of Washington at Seattle and U of Toronto, and I haven't decided to do PhD or to find a job afterwards. I am wondering if anyone could shed some light on each of these programs.

The MS program at U of T is fully funded with extra scholarships, but the program is short (1 year). Is the short course duration a big disadvantage? Although there are a few professors there that I am familiar with (so probably I can start my research projects early), I realize a PhD right after my master is virtually impossible to get since applications will have to be submitted 3 months after I begin my master, which isn't enough time to do anything significant. I am also confused with how important the scholarship I get in master is in applying for PhD. 

The MS program at U of Washington is without any financial support and it is for two years, giving me more time for meaningful research. The program is highly ranked in the states, and UW is quite famous for machine learning, which is one of my interests that I want to do in either PhD or job. I am wondering which university is more academically prestigious in statistics (it is hard to find a ranking for both Canadian and US universities). 

Could someone please shed some light on my questions? Thanks in advance!

How important is the funding for you?

UW has a very prestigious program, not everyone is accepted there. Additionally, if you go there it would be easier to get a funding PhD

Not my field, but if both programs are comparable in terms of ranking, I'd go with UW if lack of funding is not important to you. If you need to take out a loan or if it would be a struggle to come up with the funds, then go with U of T.