MA---->PhD?

hippityhop123

Here's the story:

I graduated college last year. I've been thinking about earning a History PhD for the last year or so. After graduation I wanted to spend some time working in the real world, so I took a government job. 

I didn't apply for PhD programs (Fall 2015) because I didn't feel like my application was strong enough (several poor grades, average GREs, etc.)

I've been applying to MA programs instead, & I've been accepted at several of my top choices (American, NYU). 

Does earning an MA first strengthen my application for when I apply to PhD programs in the future? 

If my MA program is a year, when would I apply for a PhD?

I've been hearing the phrase "cash cow" in reference to MA programs, thus me trying to weigh the pros/cons :/ 

Edited by annabee

I have two colleagues who did their (world) history MAs at NYU.  It wasn't a wonderful experience for them-- the atmosphere was impersonal as it could get.  It was also quite expensive to live in NYC (though same could be said for DC).  But their MAs did give them "hitting the ground running" for the PhD where they took on a different focus (and used "world history" as one of their minor PhD fields).  For what i knew about their application process for the PhD, NYU didn't propel into a higher ranked program.

If you don't already have undergrad debt, then perhaps it's worth the risk.  If you do have debt from undergrad, go to a cheaper MA program or work off the loans a bit.  Your PhD stipend will hardly be enough to keep up with the payments (you pay into the interest before the principal).

Here's the story:

I graduated college last year. I've been thinking about earning a History PhD for the last year or so. After graduation I wanted to spend some time working in the real world, so I took a government job. 

I didn't apply for PhD programs (Fall 2015) because I didn't feel like my application was strong enough (several poor grades, average GREs, etc.)