would you rather...

1. go to law school

or

2. abandon all hope in the world and move to costa rica and sell tiny shell bracelets to tourists and get a pet tree frog

okay.... that's not really what I was going to ask but I thought that would help get at least get some attention

Basically, I am your standard college graduate who "wants to help people". I studied International Policy and Economics, Environmental Development, and got a minor in public health. Disparities (social, economic, educational, environmental) make me livid, and like many other liberal arts majors, I want to change that (I don't mean become jaded and accept these issues.. just to be clear).

So obviously I started looking into law, because what is a better way to help systematically oppressed groups of people than to.... use the system to help them???

This leads me to one of my main questions: what is the deal with everyone saying going into law is a stupid decision? I will admit, although I thought this video posted on the forum earlier was pretty funny (https://youtu.be/nMvARy0lBLE) it still didn't really explain thoroughly why going to law school is a bad idea (unless I am being willfully ignorant)

I guess my questions for you all in this forum is:

1.Why did you choose to ignore all the bad press about going into law school and pursue it anyway?

2.Do you have lawyers in your family that you could get advice from/insight how it is really like to work in law?

3. What do you hope to do with your law degree? Personally, I am not looking to go into courtrooms and arguing, I like conflict resolution, compromise, and public interest advocacy (is this a huge red flag? Do I have the complete wrong impression about what it means to practice law?)

Thank you for reading this far, and I greatly appreciate any insight you may be able to offer.

Sincerely,

a mildly exasperated and cynical, but aspiring superhero