Panic Attack before school start!!!!

S.K.

Hello

I am an international student and I have been accepted for a PhD in the US. I never left so far from home before, even as an undergrad I lived like a 30min car drive away from home. I've been with someone for 4 years and we have been always together, I was never away from him for long periods of time. 1 month was the most we haven't seen each other. He will come with me to the states and he will stay 2 weeks to help me settle in.

My problem: I fly in less than a week and I'm having panic attacks, I cry all night, I can't concentrate and I'm really scared! I'm thinking of my family and my boyfriend who I will only see on Skype till christmas. The program I will start needs a 3.5 GPA in order to stay in good standing, this worries me as I have never been a top student. I mean, I'm an alright student, but I never went the extra mile, I always did what I had to do, you can call that lazy :P I would put me in the B range. I'm scared that I will fail and that they will kick me out after one semester. I even went as far as thinking that I don't really wanna do this.

Did it happen to anyone? Am I just getting cold feet for being alone for the first time? Or should I really be concerned?

I would appreciate any advice!

Thank you

Edited by S.K.

The time right before you move is one of the hardest. Major changes are about to happen, but first you are forced to wait. The imagination can go wild. What you are describing sounds normal under the circumstances.