Side Jobs to Make Extra Money During PhD?

TXInstrument11

If you are getting any sort of tuition remission or stipend from the university, be very careful to read the fine print - working an outside job during the school year is often explicitly prohibited, and punished by the loss of that aid.

Do read the fine print... sometimes it may prohibit any work, sometimes it may restrict how many hours you can work, and I recall someone mentioning that they were allowed to work any outside job, but they couldn't work at one on campus.

I find it hard to believe that if the funding is low enough that you would have hard time making ends meet, that you wouldn't be allowed to at least get part-time hours somewhere (and I recommend waiting tables, bartending, or delivering pizza). However, I'm not an expert on these things. If you have the funding offered to you already, then you should have access to the fine print. Universities generally have the info posted somewhere on their website, too (check the financial aid section).

You can certainly try working under the table, and there are more options than just babysitting and lawn mowing. However there is always the possibility of getting caught, although something like babysitting may be overlooked.

Hm. Yes, I forgot about that. I suppose my job would have to be cash then so it would fly under the radar - babysitting, lawn mowing, private tutoring?

have you considered jumping into the "sharing economy" like becoming an Uber driver or posting on TaskRabbit?

from what i read in one of your other posts (and because i assume we are in somewhat similar programs) i can tell you that if you're willing to do data analysis for other people, you can make a pretty decent buck. and i'm speaking from experience here. god knows i wouldn't have been able to afford graduate school without putting some of my quantitative skills to work