Department politics

egFace

I am a PhD student. My department just recruited a great researcher to be on the faculty, but he is already thinking of leaving. I am very disappointed, because I was planning on doing a lot of my PhD work with him, and I think he is a great addition to the faculty. The story is that his lab space was supposed to be cleared out and renovated by the beginning of September. However, the guy who previously occupied that space is very stubborn with moving his stuff out and thus halting renovations. And it isn't if there is heavy equipment to move out--he just has a lot of books to remove. At the time I write this post, it is already September 19. I just spoke to the new professor today, and he said that he may need to move to another university since his funding source is demanding that he start his research right away. All because some guy refuses to move his damn books!

So, I sent an email to the professor who is not moving his stuff, and politely offered to help move his stuff if he ever needs it. While this guy doesn't know that the new professor is thinking of moving to another university, I did make it a point to mention in the email that it would be a shame to lose him. I know that I am a mere grad student, but this guy's actions are not just affecting the start of a career for a new faculty member, but also my future plans. In other words, his actions (or lack thereof) are beginning to affect a student. Was it right for me to send the email to him, or was it a mistake? 

Edited by egFace

Honestly? Stay out of this. It is WAY above your pay grade. The guy that isn't moving his stuff probably knows the consequences of his decisions and is choosing to do it anyway. The reasons why aren't your business. So, stay out of it and try to cultivate other people in your program to work with. Best of luck!