Solicited to Write a Chapter

Hi All,

I am a first year PhD student in the humanities. I recently received a solicitation to submit a chapter for a new anthology. The request is based on some research I did in a project I have since moved on from. I am still in the same broad sub-field, but have move to an entirely different theme. It's all above board, academic publisher, respected in the field editors, etc. Two questions. 1) I am really unfamiliar with academic etiquette. Should I consult with my current advisor before coming to a decision? 2) Is there any disadvantage to publishing something outside your present project?

Thanks!

I'll answer this from the point of view of my field, assuming that these etiquette issues are common across fields.

1. How much time would it take for you to write this invited chapter? If it will use your current University's resources and take time away from work with your current project, you should definitely consult your current advisor. I am working on turning my MSc work into a paper and I have consulted with my advisor to ensure that this was okay. If this is a minimal amount of work that you can do on your own time, then you don't need to consult with your current advisor. However, I think it would still be a good idea to talk about this to your current advisor (see next question too). After all, in a good advisor-advisee relationship, they are interested in what's best for you and this is a good time to get their academic advice.