Disappointing dissertation grades: Are PHD admission chances doomed?

Politicus

I studied Master's in International relations at a reputed English University and performed quite well in term papers (averaged distinction) but the dissertation which I had expected would fetch marks at least at "merit" level has left me disappointed. It's only pass. While my GPA still averages equivalent to 3.38/4.00 (According to WES grades conversion) I am daunted by the fact the admission committee might have reservations as to my research potential. I have two conference presentations across the Atlantic, GRE scores in the 80s percentile and a decent SOP. Before grading, I was considering top-ranking political science programs such as MIT, Stanford, Princeton and OSU among others. However, after receiving dismal grades I am confused if I should still go for these programs, apply to mid- and-lower-ranking programs or simply renounce the idea of doing doctoral research? Out of this muddle, therefore, answers to the following questions would be helpful.

Does the admission Committee really take dissertation marks quite seriously, despite a stellar record in term-papers?

If yes, is there any way I can compensate for the apparent discrepancy?

And, would it be advisable to send dissertation (after editing and proofreading in line with supervisor's feedback) as a writing sample?

Any insights would be appreciated.

Hi ,