No Academic LORs for IR/Public Policy MA - am I screwed?

jndaven

I graduated from a large private university three years ago and while I did well there (3.5 GPA) most of my classes were huge and I don't think anyone will remember me well enough to write me a recommendation letter three years later...I want to apply to masters programs in IR and Public Policy at the usual suspects: HKS, U Chicago, Colombia, etc. Am I screwed if I don't have a single academic recommendation? I took math classes at community college last spring, but I can't imagine a letter from there would help me either!

Do you have any equivalent work/volunteer experience? I'm apply for Public policy programs (focused more on urban and management issues though) and I'm more than 10 years removed from my undergrad and a few relevant grad classes as not to make an academic recommendation possible for me. In my case, my fall back position are LORs from current and former supervisors as well as a politician I was a strategist/asst campaign manager for last election cycle. I'm hoping this will be sufficient to make up for no academic references.

I graduated from a large private university three years ago and while I did well there (3.5 GPA) most of my classes were huge and I don't think anyone will remember me well enough to write me a recommendation letter three years later...I want to apply to masters programs in IR and Public Policy at the usual suspects: HKS, U Chicago, Colombia, etc. Am I screwed if I don't have a single academic recommendation? I took math classes at community college last spring, but I can't imagine a letter from there would help me either!