Did you minor? Were you a NSSLHA officer?

jmk

Did you or are you planning to also minor in something? 

Were you actively involved with your NSSLHA chapter? Did you serve as an officer? 

Do you feel as though minoring or an active involvement in NSSLHA really highlighted or improved your application? 

(My small CD program has a very strong culture and overall push for minoring in Special Education, and being active with NSSLHA. As a commuter student, I recently expressed that I would be cutting back on my NSSLHA involvement, and not pursuing a minor due to schedule conflicts. I was met by negativity by my minor advisor, faculty advisor, and peers I asked for advice. I feel as though I am disappointing my advisor if I do not go the path she is advising (which involves the minor and NSSLHA). Meanwhile, I also want to do what is best for me and the best use of my time. Feeling a bit conflicted.) 

Edited by jmk

If everyone is doing the same thing, then no one in your class really stands out. I think it is important to be involved in something but it doesn't have to be the same thing everyone else is doing. I'm a member of NSSLHA but I've held positions in other student orgs. I think the leadership experience I got from those outweighs what I would've gotten out of holding positions in NSSLHA. If you have conflicting things that are a better use of your time, I would pursue those. 

I did very little with nsslha in undergrad. I wasn't an officer and only went to a few activities. I really don't think it's a huge contributing factor. I was in leadership for my college marching band and a supervisor at my job. The experience was great to mention even if the fields weren't related.