Current Yale Jackson Student - AMA

Can you talk about how generous Yale is with their funding? The program is not very highly ranked among foreign policy circles (lower than American and LSE) so are they trying to recruit competitive students with funding? Also, for someone interested in international development, are there enough resources on IDEV there?

On 12/7/2015 at 3:30 PM, Pt.r said:

Is there room in Jackson for student interests in domestic economic and social policy, rather than "global affairs"? Or is everyone there really IR oriented?

Yes there is. You can take any class from the Econ, Poli-Sci, Law (though not all), Environment, etc... schools. The program is what you want it to be. I'm only in my first semester (where we have a core curriculum) here but this is what I've found: 

- Howard Dean holds his office hour every week in the Jackson building and whatever you may think of him, is an interesting guy to talk to about issues related to the United States.  

- Our econ prof Zach Cooper taught our Intro to Micro Econ course using real data from US industries like health care, aviation, etc... to highlight policy actions.

- There are a bunch of talks/seminars every day open to Jackson students, given by senior US policy makers. In the few months I've been here, I've had 1-2 lunch/dinner sessions with hedge fund managers, ambassadors and other civil servants. We also had a fully paid for 3-day networking trip to DC where connected with Yale alums who work at Capitol Hill and spent a morning meeting folks at the Pentagon. 

That being said, I think that most of my classmates have interests that are international in nature. Even the Americans all want to better understand America so they can better position it in the context of the wider world. Hope that helps!

On 12/8/2015 at 11:11 AM, manutdftw said: