How strict are schools about the minimum admission requirement?

litzzie

Hi, everyone, 

I have applied to two PhD programmes in universities in BC, both in the Faculty of Education. I have found a prof in each programme who enthusiastically agreed to supervise me if I got admitted. Problem is my Masters grades weren't exactly great--their faculty's minimum is a B+, and I got a B due to chronic health issues. My undergraduate grades, however, were B+, but it's irrelevant now as I am not applying to a Masters programme. I have 13 years of teaching experience. 

My question is, should I assume that I wouldn't get in because I don't meet the minimum requirements, or should I not rule it out as the profs were so supportive and encouraging?

I have to ask because a job came up for my husband and he is very eager to apply, and the time to decide whether to apply is now. The job is in Europe and if he took it I wouldn't be able to start my PhD. He said he would prioritise my PhD so he kinda want an idea on how likely I would get in.

On a different but related note, when will I know the results?

Thanks in advance, everyone!

Many BC schools will release PhD results on the same timeline as American schools, so around Feb-April 2016.

I think both you and your husband should apply to the PhD program and the job, respectively. Applying is not a commitment. If your husband gets a job offer before you hear back from the school, maybe he can ask for more time to decide. At the very least, it will give you a little bit more time to choose between one or the other.

Thanks, for your reply, Takeruk. The job that my husband is applying to requires him to commit by the end of January. Do you think I should at least try and ask by the end of January? Or it would be quite pointless anyway because if the decision isn't made it isn't made and no point asking?

Thanks again!