Listing grants on CV

shadowclaw

Hello everyone,

I have a question about listing a grant on a CV. When I did my masters, my advisor wrote a grant to fund my research. The grant came from an office within the university and was competitive, not to mention it was a pretty decent-sized sum of money. In the grant proposal, my advisor is listed as the PI and I am listed under the category of "other participants" (these are the only two categories available on the grant proposal cover sheet). While the body of the grant proposal mainly focuses on the scientific rationale, there is also a line in the objectives/outcomes section that states how the project is an important component of my degree.

I am unsure if I should list this on my CV since 1) I am not the PI, and 2) I didn't do the writing. However, I am also inclined to list it on my CV since 1) I am listed by name and department on the grant, and 2) my status as a graduate student and the need for money to complete my degree was an important factor in the decision to give us the grant. 

So if I can list this on my CV, how would I describe my role? I am certainly not a co-PI, but would I be considered a co-investigator? Is there even a difference between these two terms, because I haven't found consistent results when I tried to google this. From what I read, I fit the description of a co-investigator, since I designed most of the project following some guidelines from my advisor and did all of the work myself.

Any thoughts on this?

Personally, I wouldn't list this on my CV. I only list grants for which I applied (either solo or with others) and received funding for.