Grad School -- After a LONG Break

TurquoiseTurtle

Hello, everyone!  I am very grateful to have found this forum.  It looks like a wealth of information!

I am hoping that somebody (or several somebodies!) might have a pearl of wisdom to toss my way regarding my situation.  I was a very happy and successful undergraduate English major (I graduated Magna cum Laude with a 3.8 GPA), and was fortunate enough to have a productive Research Assistantship with a professor who taught me a great deal about my specific area of interest: Postcolonial literary theory.  I graduated in 2000, after which I moved to Dallas, got married, and had two wonderful children.  My intention to apply to graduate school went on the back burner so that I could raise my kids.  Now that they are older, I definitely want to go back to school; however, I just don't know where to begin.  My undergrad degree is sixteen years old and I am no longer in touch with any of my previous professors, who would have served as academic references.  I still want to eventually earn my PhD in English so that I can cultivate a career in Postsecondary Education; I just need to figure out how to get there. 

I am considering going back to school for a second Bachelor's in order to develop the references and more recent coursework that I feel I need in order to competitively apply to an MA program; would this be a good idea?  Another consideration is that since my family is well-established where we currently live, I do not have the option of applying to multiple programs or attending different schools for different degree programs.  Is it reasonable to expect to attain a B.A. M.A., and PhD from the same university, or should I look at the possibility of getting one or more of these degrees from different institutions, even if it means having to get the degree entirely online?