1 year out, advice help?

Hi all,

This might be a litttle repetitive but I tried to read all relevant topics before posting this so hopefully it's not. I need a little advice.

I'm a student who is looking to get an MPH (in some cases it's just an MS). I'm looking to get a degree in Global Health or Health Communications. That just might help paint a small picture. The other stuff is probably more important.

In college I wasn't the best student and didn't take my education seriously. So I took 2 years off, worked, and then returned (At a different school). I was able to graduate successfully. Successfully being I took 70 credits, the remainder, at my new school and graduated with a 4.0. For context, my first schools gpa, the first 50 or so credits (not all transferred), was a 1.7

Obviously I missed this cycle for most schools and that's okay, I'm more curious does anyone have any advice to boost my chances? I know SOPHAS will combine my GPA and yes, my last 60 (which i know some schools pay attention to move heavily) are a solid 4.0, but my combined gpa is low. around a 2.8 or something (i think it's actually a 2.7 when things break down). That's below the 3.0 cut off so I'm not sure if it's even worth applying?

For some other information

Applying for: 80% Health Comms programs, 20% Global Health

URM (AA LGBTQ Male)
Major: Ba Communications (Focus on New Media)
UG GPA :1st school 1.7, 2nd school 4.0
MAJOR GPA: 4.0
LAST 60 credits 4.0
GRE: V 170, Q 168, W: 4.5
Strong professional LORs, work in political communications
Plethora of volunteer experience
Americorps Member
2 published short stories (i've heard mixed reviews if that helps)

Any advice would be great. I didn't list the schools I'm considering but if that matters, I can. I was thinking of volunteering once a week for 5 hours a week over the next year at something health related?