Graduate Transfer Situation

CB21

So, to make a long story... not as long:

I just completed 50% of my MA in Art History. I went to the CAA Conference and quickly discovered how much my school is not offering, that I was not being challenged, and it was just not a good fit overall. 

Last day for dropping courses without losing money was this past Saturday (the first week of classes). Not wanting to waste any more money, I dropped my courses. 

I am now searching for an MA or MA to PhD program that I can transfer into (preferably ones that will accept SOME credits earned already or one year MA programs). I don't want to lose more than a semester and am finding it hard to identify which schools accept transfers.

I am currently just calling institutes to find out but could use some guidance in finding decent schools. My undergrad was in Dance so I am still fairly new to the field.

I am interested in contemporary art and museum education. My passion is street art.

Any help is appreciated. 

That's going to be tough. Most institutions will only let you transfer in 9-12 credit hours (so about one semester worth of work). Are there specific areas which you think you're lacking in? If so, could you potentially just take courses in those areas before applying to PhD programs?

I'm not sure you'll have much luck finding an 'MA to PhD' program that will accept transfer credits from a partially-completed MA degree... in terms of PhD programs: students who enter with an MA degree (in the same field) can generally apply to get some sort of reduction in their coursework requirements, but even this varies from school to school -- some programs expect all students to take a full docket of coursework regardless of whether they're coming in with an MA.