UC Davis vs U Michigan - Statistics PhD

jdm11

As the title mentioned, I'm choosing between these two school (and UCLA if I get in...) for a Stat PhD. A bit about me. I'm an undergrad from Rice and I'm pretty sure I want to go into industry after grad school (google, walmart labs, some start-up. Think data science jobs). My research interests include statistical learning methods and graphical models. Here is a bit about each school that I've decided is important to help me make a decision.

UC Davis

• Already in California.
  • Accepted into this program that looks like it'll prepare me for a good first job in industry (http://www.stat.ucdavis.edu/research/nsf-rtg/index.html)
  • $21,000 stipend over 9 months
  • $5,000 summer fellowship for one month for the first two years
  • No mention of TA duties but probs assume I'll have to TA each semester I'm there

Michigan

• Much higher ranking (top 6-top 15 at most of the websites I've looked at)
  • $2418.64/ month stipend with health and dental coverage
  • $9690 summer stipend for first year only
  • No TA duties for first year, and two semesters of my choosing between 2nd and 3rd

Seems like Michigan is an obvious choice but I'm afraid it might be too theoretical/difficult for me to branch out and take other classes. I essentially want to take or audit up the first year or two of the computer science major of whichever university I attend. Also, I'm from Houston, TX and have never been in the true cold vs Davis which is in California (where I'll probably want to work afterwards). Any help??