Comparative Religion

religiousphilosophy

Hi guys, I'll be attending a reputable divinity school for an MDiv this fall, and my goal is to streamline the degree in preparation for a PhD in Comparative Religion for Christianity and Buddhism. I am seeking ordination from a Protestant denomination which is why I applied for the MDiv. I am rather new to the field of religious studies as I don't have much formal academic experience in this area, but I do have a host of personal experiences and independent research that seems to make Comparative Religion the right choice for me. I have three main questions (I've done a fair bit of googling already and I would like some opinions from members on this board):

1. How feasible is it to jump from an MDiv focusing mainly on the Christian tradition to a PhD in Comparative Religion (Christianity and Buddhism)?

2. What programs in America are engaging in this field, and are there programs that specifically compare Christianity with Theravada Buddhism?

3. Is it possible to do Comparative Religion in three religions (Christianity, Buddhism, and Islam)?

Thanks in advance!

I can't speak to much to PhD programs, and I think the "comparative" project is waning, at least as it has been traditionally understood as an approach to religious studies. The only ones I know of are Washington U. and maybe Georgetown.