Chance of acceptence into University of Toronto

polarbear123

Question

I am thinking of applying to the university of Toronto's MSc Biostatistics program for fall 2017. However, I am from the u.s. and have read that applying to u of t for masters is similar to applying for a Phd here so I don't want to get my hopes up. If any others with experience on this could please help me get a better idea of my chance of acceptance.

I'm currently majoring in statistics, my overall GPA is 3.4, major GPA is 3.5. I noticed they look at last 5 senior level courses though, which depending on fall course grades I believe could range from a 3.5-3.8 GPA. I also will have completed a thesis as an undergrad through a honors in the major program and will have a year of experience as a clinical data analyst by the time I apply. 

I have noticed two people have already been rejected from this program, and that international acceptance is very limited. So do you think my chance of acceptance is low(probably?), moderate(possibly?), or high(lol)? and should I turn my focus to Biostatistics programs elsewhere?

Edited by polarbear123

5 answers to this question

Is it a funded program? I know that U of T has very limited funded spots for international students, meaning that you have to really stand out to be offered a funded position. And if they want to guarantee funding to all of their students, they are less likely to accept international students due to the higher tuition cost.

Okay, I went to the website and found this link about international students. It sounds like they don't offer funding (although there are two kinds of masters):

http://www.dlsph.utoronto.ca/international-applicants/

Do you have these required courses?

Also required are courses in linear algebra, advanced calculus, probability and mathematical statistics.

That's from their website.