NYU MS Data Science vs Columbia MA QMSS

ceroper

Hi folks,

I've been accepted to the following programs:

MS in Data Science from NYU

MA in Quantitative Methods in the Social Sciences at Columbia (want to pursue the data science concentration)

MS in Computational Analytics and Public Policy at University of Chicago

Master of Information Systems Management with a concentration in Business Intelligence and Data Analytics at Carnegie Mellon

So exciting to have so many options! I think I've probably narrowed it down to Columbia and NYU, because those programs are most narrowly focused on the data analysis stuff I find most interesting, but feel free to persuade me otherwise! I worked at a marketing consulting firm in the analytics department for two years, and then I worked at GlobalGiving, a nonprofit crowdfunding platform for a year and a half. For undergrad, I studied Economics and Professional Writing at Carnegie Mellon University. I've taken some programming here and there, but doing business intelligence work using SQL and Excel has been by bread and butter, so any of these programs would stretch my technical skills.

I'm not completely sure what I want to do when I graduate, but broadly speaking, I want to be a data scientist in the social impact space. I could see myself as a data scientist at a crowdfunding site and/or a number cruncher at an international institution like the UN (Global Pulse) or the World Bank.