Honest Assessment of Chances

BCHistory

This is my first time posting in this forum. I've been reading the topics for a while, and some of them have gotten me a bit nervous regarding my chances for admission into Ph.D programs in history. Would anybody mind making an honest assessment of how I stack up in the admissions process at the schools to which I've applied? Thanks!

GPA: 3.63 overall; 3.67 major (history)

GRE: 720 V (98%); 750 Q (83%); 5.0 AW (81%)

BA in history and political science from Emory University; Dean's List; Phi Alpha Theta; National Merit Scholar. I worked for four years at Emory's Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library, and since I've graduated in 2008, I have worked at the South Caroliniana Library at the University of South Carolina. Reading knowledge of Italian.

I want to study American religious history, with a focus on American Catholicism, African-American Catholics, parochial educational practices of the nineteenth century, southern Catholics during the Civil War and Reconstruction, and Catholic minority identity formation and religiously informed nationalism.

All of my applications and letters have been submitted. I feel confident that the letters will be good, and I shared my writing sample and statement of purpose with several professors, went through countless edits and revisions, and am very proud of the work I accomplished in this area.

However, my major concern: I attended law school for one semester with serious reservations, partly out of a desire to please my parents and partly because of what I apprehended to be a surer monetary return. I struggled with the decision of attending law school or pursuing a Ph.D when I was an undergraduate. I knew very quickly that I made the wrong choice, but stuck it out to the end of my first semester to finish my exams and classes honorably. Unfortunately, I wound up with a disappointing 2.93 in my one semester of law school.