Reputation of Political Science in international comparison

Hey guys,

I am studying Political Science in Germany (Darmstadt). Here in Germany the humanities don't enjoy much appreciation, although I think that generally Political Science gets more appreciation than other humanities like history or some kind of cultural sciences.

Nevertheless, also Political Science doesn't has a good reputation. Especially students of the so called "MINT" (maths, engineer, natural sciences, technique) are very condescending towards the humanities, mostly by postulating that there is only jibber jabber without any useful content and thinking that you have very bad chances concerning the labour market.

However, sometimes I hear that especially in the United States the situation is pretty in contrast to that. So I wonder, is it true that the humanities, and Political Science in particular, enjoy much more appreciation in the US and other anglistic regions than in Germany and other states? Or do you contradict by suggesting that in the US, Canada, Great Britain etc. there is not much of a difference to the picture in Germany?

Thanks!

Well, first of all political science is not humanities, it is a social science. 

There is a general pecking order:

Natural Sciences (physics, chemistry)  > Math, Statistics, Computer Science, Technology, ect > Social Sciences > Humanities

There is some elitism, generally people look down on the disciplines below them. General public seems to look up at STEM, but not really understand the nuances between the other fields, although disciplines like English or Women's Studies are often criticized to some degree. 

Political Science seems to fit right in the middle, probably the most 'respected' of the non-STEM disciplines with the exception of Economics. Anthropology is probably the least respected of the social sciences.

I mean basically, the more quantitative your field is the more 'respect' it has.