Graduate Assistantship

easybreezy

Hi all! I was recently sent an email from my school to complete an application for a GA position.  I don't have any former research experience, but I currently work as an library assistant and have been a tutor and teacher in the past - just some background info on me.  Do you all have any tips or advice on how to make my application a bit stronger?  Thanks in advance!

The jobs you listed as part of your background sound like strengths, even if they're not directly related to the research you will be doing as a GA. I would emphasize the skills that you gained from them and how those skills could be of use in your potential position as a GA. Good luck! 

I applied for an assistantship at the beginning of April. I have absolutely no research experience. But part of the application wanted me to list all the classes relevant to the assistantship (which was pretty much every single class related to my major). I also have worked for almost two years as a visual merchandiser and the MS program I am doing is global merchandising. I found out a couple weeks ago I received the assistantship. I'm not sure how many applied, but the director did say they received a lot of applications for it. Research or not, I'm sure it helped that I already had my undergrad in merchandising and have already been working in this capacity.

@serenade great, thank you! I was able to incorporate that into my application and resume.