Online SLP programs....Do or Don't?

Current student at the University of Tennessee exploring my options. UTK is of course my dream school and I love all things "East Tennessee". I've made a life here and I'm trying to prepare myself for the possibility that it may or may not happen for me. I know of two programs in the state that offer online programs and have also see many from around the country advertised. I would appreciate your thoughts on online programs and if you think they are just as good as any other "regular" masters SLP program!

Have you taken any online courses? I did my 1st bachelor's in-person and am doing my 2nd online. I think my personality does better with in-person coursework but the only option for an in-person 2nd bachelor's was more than twice as expensive and would've required a commute that's 75+ minutes each way. Yeah, that wasn't going to happen.

Right now I'm going to be targeting in-person master's but if I can arrange a good SLPA fieldwork placement that leads to a paid SLPA job, I'd consider an online or low-residency hybrid program. I should know by the time I'd need to make a decision about where to apply.

1 minute ago, Crimson Wife said:

Have you taken any online courses? I did my 1st bachelor's in-person and am doing my 2nd online. I think my personality does better with in-person coursework but the only option for an in-person 2nd bachelor's was more than twice as expensive and would've required a commute that's 75+ minutes each way. Yeah, that wasn't going to happen.

Right now I'm going to be targeting in-person master's but if I can arrange a good SLPA fieldwork placement that leads to a paid SLPA job, I'd consider an online or low-residency hybrid program. I should know by the time I'd need to make a decision about where to apply.