hardest stat MSc programs to get in?

Rogelio

Hi,

I'm interested in entering a statistics master program in the US.

Since I graduated from a not so prestigious foreign university, I'm not considering aiming at top programs in the US.

I think that I have better chances applying to middle-rank programs. Plus, I have a limited budget for application fees and I don't want to squander it on unrealistic expectations.

My question is: where can I find MSc stat programs ranked by demand?

BTW, my long term project is to work for the financial sector. Do you think that I should apply to a PhD program? If so, can you provide a similar rank for PhD programs?

Best!

• 2 weeks later...

What do you want to do in the financial sector? If you want to be a quant, then it makes sense to get a PhD in statistics or some other very mathematical field. However, there are lots of other jobs one can do, and for some of them you might be better off with a masters program in financial engineering/financial mathematics.

It's hard for anyone to say what your chances might be without more information. Check out some of the profiles others have posted and consider doing one of those.

People often use the US News and World Report rankings when comparing schools. You could look at those.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi,

I really appreciate your interest :)

I really don't know what I want to do in the financial sector. I just don't want to work in the academia. What are the prospects of getting into the industry with a PhD? 

I read all these articles saying that getting a PhD is only for academicians, that if you want to get in the industry you need less education and more real-life experience. The question is: Is getting a PhD just "too much specialization" for getting into the industry?

My background:

-BA in Physics from Havana University, Cuba (June 2015).

-All grades between A+ and B+, in all math subjects I got straight A's