Worth it? Grade appeal?

historicallinguist

Hello. Linguists. I am a first year MA student in school A who will transfer to a Ph.D. program in school B next year (with an offer in hand already). So, now I have a problem. I am taking one class required by the MA program taught by a Prof who is both the chair of the department and my advisor. I know that the semester just started but problems come very soon (just like the problems sets!). The core issue here is that he reduced my grade of the submitted problem sets by 25 percent for some absurd reasons. If I did something wrong in the problem set, fine and I would accept the grade. But he was basically saying that I did not answer some of the questions that were not even asked by the prompts of the problem, and therefore I missed some important points he expected me to make in the solution, and thus a big chunk of my grade was taken away. I feel this is not fair, and such grading is capriciously arbitrary with no rubric whatsoever. I wrote to him a two days ago, trying to solve the issue and find some way to avoid potential similar disputes in the future, without escalating the issue to the higher administration. But I haven't heard anything back from him yet, and I am not sure whether he is going to write back to me to address this issue. In case that he refuses to address the issue, what should I do next? This one grade in itself is one issue, but may be not the most worrisome. The more worrisome issue I have is that he may continue to do such things, assigning grades arbitrarily and capriciously, with no good rationale behind how he grades problem sets or other works.(He does not even have a grading system in the syllabus explicitly telling me what ranges are for A, B, C, D, and F respectively!)