Explaining academic performance in applications

Quick question about explaining academic performance in applications:

My GPA's fluctuated quite a bit throughout my undergraduate career. Whereas my GPA has consistently been around 3.8 in each of the 4 Fall semesters that I've been a college student, my GPA in the spring semester always falls around a 3.0. While I didn't think anything of it until earlier this academic year, I was recently diagnosed with seasonal depression (which would explain the drop in academic performance, given that most of the "Spring" semester actually takes place in the winter).

Do you think it would be worth touching upon this somewhere in my application? The way I see it, I have 3 options:

a) include a brief sentence or two in my personal statement, where I explain how my undergraduate coursework has prepared me for the particular program (in particular, I got a C+ in Intermediate Micro during the spring of my sophomore year, but retook it Pass/Fail my senior year to prepare myself for upper-level micro-heavy econ classes, which allowed me to get an A in my senior seminar in microeconomic theory);

b ) include it in the section for additional information (a number of my applications have space for explaining special circumstances*); or

c) don't address it at all.

I realize that it's generally frowned upon to try to cover up a so-so GPA, but I feel like this is a legitimate reason. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

--

*HKS, for example, has an optional essay that might be appropriate ("If you have any concerns about your prior academic background or if you believe the Admissions Committee may have concerns, please give a brief explanation of your performance in college and its relation to your past and future career accomplishments").

Edited by greendiplomat

in my opinion, take option b

because option a will ruin the flow of your essay and make your personal statement seems full of excuses and option c is not really an option.