New: Applying for Masters History Programs - Have no Undergrad Thesis, am I out of my league?

AnonymousUser

I have been drawn to returning to school with a focus in history for some time now.  My undergrad was at a Big Ten school in International Studies.  I had a 3.9 major GPA (poor overall GPA because of math & physics classes).  I have now been out of undergrad for about 4 years because I am an Officer in the military.  During my time in the military I have been exploring multiple facets of its history in my own individual studies.  I now want to apply to a masters program in history.  My main problem is the fact that I have 0 publications, and no undergrad thesis.  

I am new here but I have read a lot of posts in this forum.  Many people seem to have a 10-50 page undergrad thesis prior to applying, and some have already been published. 

If possible, I want to aim big, and I am looking primarily at a prestigious history departments across the board.  I do NOT have an interest in a PHD program at this time.  

Given my unimpressive undergrad record, and lack of any substantial academic writing, am I out of my league right now?  Do I need to go back and do an undergrad thesis?  Do admissions committees take into account actual world work experience, or is it purely based on academic/research experience?

Any help would be appreciated.  

Edited by Louie34

3.9 GPA in your department isn't too unimpressive.  I got worse than that and managed to skip a thesis by doing a seminar in intellectual history with a long paper.  (They've changed their requirements since then to make that impossible.)  And now, 30 years later, I just finished a master's thesis at Cambridge.