East Asian Languages and Culture/Literature 2017

SophieX

Hi all! Wondering if there is anyone out there applying to EALC/EALL/other PhD's (or MA's) for Fall 2017 (ish)? I admit I've started my applications pretty late in the game, so was hoping to connect with anyone going through this. I have gone through past topics (EALC 2016 and East Asian Studies 2015) and both were very helpful, but it can't hurt to have some more updated information injected onto these boards. I'm also very willing to connect with anyone in PhD programs already!

A little about me: I graduated in 2010 with a BA in EALL from Washington and Lee University (with minors in creative writing and dance)  and received my MA in International Studies (with a focus on Chinese studies) from Johns Hopkins SAIS in 2013. Since then, I've worked in the non-profit sector in West China and NYC, and taught Mandarin (various positions, but I got an excellent experience as a lecturer of Chinese at a small liberal arts university, taught my first and only class of CHIN102 and loved it!). I want to apply to PhD programs in Chinese or EALL/EALC with the goal of becoming a professor of Chinese language and culture. My interests include: Chinese pedagogy, Translation history and theory, Microtranslations (subtitle translation), Modern Chinese history, Overseas Chinese history, Chinese American history, Chinese Humor in Pop Culture, Literature, and History

The schools I'm looking at are: Columbia, Stanford, UC Berkeley, U Illinois - Urbana Champaign, UPenn, U Indiana Bloomington, SUNY Binghamton (translation studies PhD), Yale, and U Chicago --- (Also I am applying to the Columbia MFA writing program with special interest in their Literary Translation at Columbia focus)