One professor's insight into AW & GRE scores

alexis

I strongly believe that the AW part is not a big deal for the professors. Adcomm can experience your writing skills at first hand with ur writing sample. Between "a writing sample on a relevant topic" vs "GRE's -are people more valuable after their death- topics", I would probably care about the writing sample. besides, the people who grade your AW's are TA's working part time for ETS. If I was a professor at the adcomm, I wouldn't really wanna trust some TA's judgement :)

Edited by curufinwe

besides, the people who grade your AW's are TA's working part time for ETS. If I was a professor at the adcomm, I wouldn't really wanna trust some TA's judgement :)

Why not? Those same TA's are often the ones teaching and grading in undergraduate courses, thus directly influencing the grade a student receives on his/her transcript... And I say this as a TA that handles all the grading for an upper-level course that is writing intensive (ie, 85% of their grade comes from take-home exams and essays). (FWIW, other students in my department are instructor of record on intro and upper-level courses and I have been in the past.)

So is your argument that it's okay to trust a TA's judgment when she or he is working for the university and being lowly-paid but not when she or he is working for ETS part-time but likely at a much higher hourly rate?

Why not? Those same TA's are often the ones teaching and grading in undergraduate courses, thus directly influencing the grade a student receives on his/her transcript... And I say this as a TA that handles all the grading for an upper-level course that is writing intensive (ie, 85% of their grade comes from take-home exams and essays). (FWIW, other students in my department are instructor of record on intro and upper-level courses and I have been in the past.)