PhD Phone Interview

I am an international student with a Master's degree from a U.S. school. I just got an email regarding a phone interview with the anthropology adcom of Rutgers University. I have applied for the PhD anthro program there.

I have never had this experience before so I just want to know what I should expect. They have indicated that the interview will be 15-20 mins long. What sort of questions will they ask? How specific will they be? Will they be right out of the material I submitted as part of my application (say smth from my SOP or writing sample) or will be much wider or as I suspect, both? How should I "introduce" myself? What are they looking for in a candidate? How familiar must I be with the faculty's work?

Just anything you guys can help me with!

Also, how many people are usually interviewed? Does this mean I am "pretty close" to being accepted or is this quite preliminary?

Thanks!

What sort of questions will they ask? How specific will they be?

Most of the questions I've heard were very general, and were along the lines of "So tell me about your Masters thesis" or "What research do you see yourself doing here?". Sometimes, they'll interject with more specific questions about methods/results/theory etc, but not in "testing" way, mostly because they're curious!

Will they be right out of the material I submitted as part of my application (say smth from my SOP or writing sample) or will be much wider or as I suspect, both?

You can usually count on the fact that they've read your application, but you have to fill them in on the details. If you talked about some substantive research in your SOP, they'll almost certainly ask you about it (or about your research experience in general, to which you can talk about it). I've never had any questions that sounded like they were testing me; it's usually just a case of them trying to get an idea of what you've done, what you want to do, and what kind of person you are.